Thomas R. Windham Award

The Fort Worth Police Department and the Fort Worth Police Officers’ Award Foundation are continuing the tradition of recognizing an officer with the Thomas R. Windham Community Policing Award.

The 2016 Thomas R. Windham Community Policing Award was presented to Officer LaWanda Saunders at the Code Blue Seminar, Saturday, April 1, 2017, at the Cendera Center.

Officers of any rank are nominated who have gone above and beyond his or her community duties. Nominees have worked with the Citizens on Patrol, Code Blue Community Policing Program or local Crime Watch neighborhood organizations to help decrease crime while increasing the understanding of the police officer’s role.

The officer chosen for this special award receives a clock engraved with his or her name. Additionally, their name will be inscribed on the commemorative trophy to be displayed in the selected officer’s division.

Presenting the 2016 Thomas R. Windham Community Policing nominees:

South Division:

Officer Miguel Vargas

North Division:

Officer Eric Charles
Officer Robert Gerrero
Officer Barry Sawyer
Officer Billy Ward

East Division:

Officer Lloyd Cook

 West Division:

Officer Tracy Carter
Officer Vernon Gray
Officer Richard Grinalds
Officer LaWanda Saunders **WINNER*
Officer Clyde Williams

Central Division:

Officer Ron Andriotto
Officer Joel Stary

Go to Top